PM Modi launches Ayushman Bharat health scheme: All you need to know about the largest healthcare programme

PM Modi Says Ayushman Bharat Insurance Plan  Will be A ‘Game Changer’.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday launched the Ayushman Bharat Pradhan Mantri Jan Aarogya Yojana (AB-PMJAY)’ scheme, considered as the world’s largest government-funded healthcare programme covering over 50 crore beneficiaries.

PM Modi said this scheme is a “game-changer initiative to serve the poor”, which would come into effect from Sunday, is a step towards serving the poor people of the country.

“PMJAY-Ayushman Bharat is the biggest government-sponsored healthcare scheme in the world,” Modi said.

“The total number of beneficiaries from Ayushman Bharat is more than the population of America, Canada and Mexico combined. Organisations across the world will study Ayushman Bharat to study how the government funded this large-scale scheme,” said PM Modi.

The PM further urged the people to memorise the helpline number of the scheme. “The helpline number for Ayushman Bharat is 14555. It should be memorised by one and all,” said Modi.

The scheme was announced by PM Modi in his Independence Day speech and was simultaneously launched in 445 districts. A digital campaign was also rolled out for spreading awareness among the people about the scheme through animations on social media and websites.

Here is all you need to know about the scheme:

Why Ayushman Bharat?

According to health ministry officials, the 71st round of National Sample Survey Organization (NSSO) revealed that 85.9 per cent of rural households and 82 per cent of urban households have no access to healthcare insurance/assurance.
More than 24 per cent households in rural India and 18 per cent population in the urban area have met their healthcare expenses through some sort of borrowing. The Ayushman Bharat intends to change this status quo.

What is Ayushman Bharat?

The Ayushman Bharat is a scheme that aims to provide health assurance to 10 crore families or around 50 crore Indians, who will be given up to Rs 5 lakh cover per year.

The scheme targets the poor, deprived rural families and identifies an occupational category of urban workers’ families, 8.03 crore in rural and 2.33 crore in urban areas, as per the latest Socio-Economic Caste Census (SECC) data.

The health ministry has included 1,354 packages in the scheme under which treatment for coronary bypass, knee replacements and stenting among others would be provided at 15-20 per cent cheaper rates than the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS).
The scheme will provide cashless and paperless access to services for the beneficiary at the point of service. Eligible people can avail the benefits in government and listed private hospitals.

Who can avail and how?

  • The entitlement is being decided on the basis of deprivation criteria in the SECC database. The beneficiaries are identified based on the deprivation categories (D1, D2, D3, D4, D5, and D7). For the urban areas, the 11 occupational criteria will determine entitlement.
  • In addition, the Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojna (RSBY) beneficiaries in states where it is active are also included.
  • There is no cap on family size and age in the scheme.

  • Aadhaar card is not mandatory. One would only need to establish one’s identity to avail benefits under the scheme which can also be done through election ID card or ration card.
  • In case of hospitalisation, members of the beneficiary families do not need to pay anything under the scheme, provided one goes to a government or an empanelled private hospital.
  • The National Health Agency (NHA), the apex body implementing the AB-NHPM, has launched a website ( and a helpline number(14555).
  • Each empanelled hospital will have an ‘Ayushman Mitra help desk’ where a prospective beneficiary can check documents to verify the eligibility and enrolment to the scheme.
  • All the beneficiaries will be given letters having QR codes which will be scanned and a demographic authentication conducted for identification and to verify his or her eligibility to avail the benefits of the scheme.

How will the beneficiary be identified at the hospital? Here’s the way..

  1. Beneficiary
  2. Hospital Help Desk
  3. Identity Verification through Aadhaar or any other Id
  4. Check if the person is eligible for the scheme
  5. Beneficiary identification system using a *letter with the family card
  6. Give e-card
  7. Doctor

No- Launch States

  • As many as 30 states and Union Territories have signed MoUs with the Centre and will implement the programme over the next two to three months, however, Telangana, Odisha, Delhi, Kerala and Punjab have not signed, so the scheme will not be implemented there till they come on board.
  • So far 15,686 applications for hospital empanelment have been received and over 8,735 hospitals, both public and private, have been empanelled for the scheme.
  • Pilot launch of the scheme has started and involves over 1280 hospitals.

About the Author: Reeta Gautam

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *